top of page

Talkin' Tuesday: Disciplining Our Minds

First off,

Let me start by saying my thoughts and prayers go out to the families affected by the tragedies, this week.

#Prayfororlando

We live in a chaotic world, with people who can be quite extreme, sadly.

Today, I'm not going to talk about gun control or Islamophobia or any of that. What I do want to talk about is something that, I think, if we let it, could help everyone. Not everyone is willing of course, but there has got to be a way to help people, other than letting them be or lecturing them..

If we could help people by taking that negativity (which I've found can stem a lot from laziness.) and finding ways to entertain these thoughts or find ways to "rewire" them as I say by disciplining our minds, things would be a lot different.

It is possible to change your thoughts, I speak from experience! It may be different for some, but it is possible. I've gone from depression to dark thoughts, until I learned that laziness is the main reason for that, then I occupied my mind with things that I want. I can't see people wanting murder-suicide, there must be reasons why, if we're talking about religion, there has to be something we can focus on, without being so enraged. There has to be a way to channel that rage!

I think people focus more on things upsetting them, more than they focus on how ridiculous our world is! The two are different, because one makes us angry and we feel that rage, but if we focus on how ridiculous things are, we can laugh about it at times. I know the shootings that happened are nothing to laugh at, but the more we focus on negativity, the more angry or depressed we get. I think we need to be aware of these things and show each other how to look at things differently. For example: instead of looking around at Pulse and saying "These people disgust me!" then shooting up the place, instead, you can laugh and shout "Get a room!" if it makes you feel better. It might incite a fight, but somebody has to step in and get people to lighten up.

Your mind controls you, control it

I'm not saying everyone should think the same thoughts or do the same things, but you can do your own thing and discipline your mind! When people think discipline, they think "strict." It doesn't even have to be strict, there's always something you can do to change your perspective that fits you, whether it's strict or not.

"To enjoy good health, to bring true happiness to one's family, to bring peace to all, one must first discipline and control one's own mind. If a man can control his mind he can find the way to Enlightenment, and all wisdom and virtue will naturally come to him." Buddha

Not everyone has to be kind to each other. Not everyone has to believe the same things, but at LEAST we should be pushing each other to see things differently.

Gun control is a good step, might not be the solution, but I don't see it being a bad idea. Teaching acceptance of other people can help, but not everyone is going to get along and not everyone can accept each other with open arms because of their own insecurities.. If we discipline our thoughts, it might take time, but we can find other outlets or other ways to see things if we just take the time... If we don't have the time, time is up to us, if we don't have time to help ourselves mentally, we don't have time for anything period, even work! If a cab driver didn't have time to get gas, I imagine he'd be missing out on a lot of cab fares that night! The mind is the medicine, we just need to find what "proverbial mental prescription" works for us.

I just think we're focusing on everything and calling these people sick and cruel, when we should be focusing on their minds.. We can talk about religion and guns and terrorists all we want but the truth is, these are humans with minds! So help them!

They have guns, but the mind is the real weapon!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page