top of page

Talkin' Tuesday: Religious Freedom.


When most people talk about 'religious freedom - they usually mean:

I have no problem with that. I consider Jesus as my savior but at the same time, I do not consider myself a Christian. I do not follow the same beliefs most Christians do, I see things a different way. I have my own personal beliefs.

The thing that frustrates me, is when people see someone of tan skin or with headgear and say "Go back to your country! This ain't The United States Of Allah! " You can scream "freedom of religious expression!" All you want, the truth of the matter here is that is, unless verbally provoked,(or physically) this is not "religious freedom." This is harassment and hatred, especially to people who are actually Christian, but aren't white Americans! Then you confuse your religious freedom with racism! I am mainly referring to the people who say they have "freedom of religion" and use it to bully others.(For those of you saying "I didn't say that!" I'm not talking about anyone on Facebook.)

Then, we have the people who complain about Muslims, mosques, Buddhists and Atheists in our country, claiming they are stepping on their 'religious freedom." Not their Christian religion, but their 'religious freedom!"

"Certainly I'm a Christian first and foremost. But I do believe in religious tolerance and finding the commonality between all of us. I think that's how we're all going to come together." Dennis Quaid

Even when people joke about Muslims in our country, they don't mean any harm by it, but they encourage others to take it too far which can lead to violence.

I've seen so many people divide themselves. Whether is be religion, politics or race. It's like we're declaring war over a conflict that in many ways was self-made. We fear what will happen to our country and to our lives. We push away the very people that could be great allies. If you wonder what is wrong with this country, think of how divided we are, when we should be united.

"Observe good faith and justice toward all nations. Cultivate peace and harmony with all." George Washington


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page